Warren Ellis, Why Do You Torture Me?

Seriously. It is bad enough that work has taught me that it is possible to eavesdrop on someone using a cell phone even if the cell phone is powered down! But that is not good enough for you, is it? You have to point me in the direction of such disturbing news as Chinese Cyborg Pigeons!

I have had it. No more. I shall await the future huddled in the corner with my blankie and my baseball bat.

18 responses to “Warren Ellis, Why Do You Torture Me?

  1. Shit!! I thought I’d dreamed that bit about cell phone survailance.
    Don’t forget your afdb

  2. Dont forget remote control cockroaches. And ill make an afdb as soon as i get home πŸ™‚

  3. How can you use a cell phone when it is powered down? I mean besides as a paper weight.

    • With the correct surveillance equipment, a person can listen in to any cell phone that contains a charged battery. Got to see a demo. Hence at Los Alamos, no one is allowed to take cell phones, two way pagers, or the like into certain secure areas.

  4. I was just being obnoxious.
    “…it is possible to eavesdrop on someone using a cell phone even if the cell phone is powered down!”
    is slightly ambiguous. Are they using the powered down cell phone to eavesdrop when the phone is powered down or is the person, who is the target of the eavesdropping, trying to use a powered down phone?
    You know, the black man’s shirt thing.

Leave a Reply

