curiouser and curiouser

I have not put up a post here in a long while. Things have been pretty busy and stressful. I am not putting up a real post yet, but there is something that has been bothering me for five and a half years now and I think that I should get it out.

Has anyone ever taken responsibility for the 11 September, 2001 attacks?

I know that we assume that it was al-Qaeda. I know that it is popular knowledge that that group was behind it. As one of my favorite literary characters once said though, “most of the things that everyone knows are wrong. The rest are just unreliable.”

Terrorists take responsibility for their acts. Whenever they do something, they put up announcements of how it was an act by their group in protest of such and such. Often more than one group will take credit for an act, leaving the authorities wondering whether the attack was a joint operation or whether some groups are trying to make themselves seem more powerful than they really are.

And there are plenty of groups out there who would like to see the US get the black eye that we sustained from those attacks. Why did I not hear about a plethora of different groups saying that the attack on our Pentagon was from one of them? (I would start searching for names to include, but I am at work and I suspect that just typing in al-Qaeda will flag my computer as a danger. A search for terrorist groups here is just begging for trouble.)

So, did I miss it? I do not continually watch the news. I easily could have missed something. Google searches have not proved fruitful though. I would think that if there had been some sort of revelation, that I would be able to find it.

Did the various media just latch onto a name of a terrorist group because it was convenient and likely? Did the US public just accept it because we are used to having our information spoon fed to us?

If someone can point me to a news article, an interview on the television or radio, something that shows that someone actually tried to say “we’re behind it! It was us” I would be appreciative.

And I am not saying that al-Qaeda was not behind that attacks. I just find the whole thing strange and will not learn unless I ask questions.

14 responses to “curiouser and curiouser

  1. “Abu Dhabi television reported it had received a call from the Democratic Front for the Liberation of Palestine claiming responsibility for crashing two planes into the twin WTC towers, which were the target of Islamic extremist bombers in February 1993. The claim was later denied.”
    -Press Association, September 11th, 2001, “One Day That Shook the World.”
    “In the West Bank, meanwhile, the leader the Democratic Front for the Liberation of Palestine denied his group was involved in the attacks.
    Qais Abdel Rahim was reacting to reports that two Arab satellite stations in the Gulf had received anonymous claims of responsibility on behalf of the DFLP, a radical PLO faction. Abdel Rahim said his group condemned the attacks.”
    -Associated Press Online, Septmeber 11th, 2001, “Arafat Horrified By Attacks”
    “While suspicions centre on groups in the Middle East, there was no certified claim of responsibility for the attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon. If the assault was not sanctioned by any country, the United States will be in the difficult position of trying to identify beyond doubt which terrorist group was responsible.”
    -The Record (Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario), September 12th, 2001, “Attacks put Bush’s leadership to the test”
    “What the world has heard from the FBI inquiry to date is paltry. The Germans and others at the Nato meeting on Wednesday were convinced the US would arrive with a bulging dossier on bin Laden’s complicity. They got so little that a desperate Lord Robertson was reduced to covering America’s back by wondering aloud whether ‘it is necessary for an ally to produce evidence?’ For many in Nato and elsewhere who think the world would be safer if the assaults were treated as great crimes rather than acts of war, the answer is ‘yes it damn well is’. But where is that evidence to come from? The hijackers’ self-destruction, and the refusal of any group to claim responsibility and explain the motive, may frustrate the best efforts to produce it. These attacks could not have been better designed to sow doubt.”
    -The Observer, September 30th, 2001, “Comment: No idea behind IDs: Without Prejudice”

    • It was intriguing (and distressing) to read through these articles, but you appear to be right. Osama bin Laden actually denied any connection to the attacks. I have plenty of news articles at my disposal if you want more quotes, those were just a few that I found interesting.

      • eek… good point(s).
        (shakes head) america is increasingly resembling the states they described as ‘evil’ (nationalistic, institutionalized prejudice and religious-based restrictions, lack of an objective media, manipulating the people, etc…) when i was in grade school… i wonder what they’re teaching in public schools now? i think it’d be hard to teach the same lessons we heard with a straight face…

      • Yeah, that’s pretty much what I remember and I cannot help but wonder why no one says anything about it.

  2. Does this mean i should have learned english instead of Russian?
    Grin
    But on a serious note, yeah i dont ever remember actually hearing anyone claim it. It may well have been a group of twelve loons.
    Or worse… Anyone seen v for vendetta? Where did the St Maty’s Vitus come from?

    • Believe it or not, I have not seen V For Vendetta. I have not even read the comic. Someday I shall do one or both, when life and art are not so close.

Leave a Reply

