Arise, Levi Who Is Called Biff

I just finished Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal. I really enjoyed it. For those who find the subject matter sacriligious, I quote from the Author’s Blessing at the start of the book.

If you have come to these pages for laughter,
may you find it.
If you are here to be offended, may your ire rise
and your blood boil.
If you seek an adventure, may this story sing you
away to a blissful escape.
If you need to test or confirm your beliefs, may
you reach comfortable conclusions.
All books reveal perfection, by what they are or
what they are not.
May you find that which you seek, in these pages
or outside them.
May you find perfection, and know it
by name.

I laughed. I was touched. I was taken away from my day to day life for a little while. I found what I sought. I hope that others do the same.

Next on deck, The Gospel According to Jesus Christ by José Saramago. It seemed like an appropriate book to follow. If it gets too serious though, I might put it aside and read another Christopher Moore book. Perhaps Fluke or Practical Demonkeeping. We’ll see.

12 responses to “Arise, Levi Who Is Called Biff

  1. I loved that book more than words can say. It’s the only portrayal of Jesus that made me ADORE him.
    And of course I was mad crazy for Biff.
    NO DUMBFUCKS!!!

  2. I would recommend Fluke, Coyote Blue, or Bloodsucking Fiends. Practical Demonkeeping was Moore’s first, and he didn’t quite find his stride yet.

    • So far, I have also read The Stupidest Angel and A Dirty Job. Both were fantastic! Fluke is very tempting, but then again so are the others that you have mentioned. I guess we shall see what I find the next time I head to Borders. 🙂

  3. Jay has gotten me hooked on that series. I agree with Qualistarian, Coyote Blue was pretty awesome.

    • Coyote Blue has been tempting for quite a while. I have always had a soft spot in my heart for trickster figures and the fact that the mythology of Coyote is very prevalent here makes it even more appealing.
      I think that I am going to hold off for a little bit though. I have heard that one of the characters in A Dirty Job first appeared in Coyote Blue and while he is a fascinating character, I kind of want to read a book that is not obviously related to any of the others that I have read, hence Fluke is my first choice for the moment.

Leave a Reply

