Hallelujah Pie

I heard this, or rather bits and pieces of this, a lot today.

Friend: What is that?
Me: It’s a slice of mango-bumbleberry pie. I just made it last night. I thought that you would like some.
Friend: Thank you! What’s a bumbleberry? I have heard of all sorts of weird things that you Americans eat.
Me: No such thing.
Friend: As Americans?
Me: Them too. No, I was talking about bumbleberries.
Friend: But you said …
Me: Bumbleberry is a term used for a mixture of berries. In this case, blueberries and blackberries with a golden cherry or two thrown in for good measure.
Friend: So you made a pie out of blueberries, blackberries and golden cherries?
Me: And mango. Do not forget the mango.
Friend: Did you make the crust too?
Me: Yep. Now are you going to talk about the pie or eat it?
Friend: (takes a bite) Dear God!
Me: Was that a good “dear God” or a bad one?
Friend: If I say “good” can I have a second piece?

Leave a Reply

