Purely For Research Purposes, Of Course

Google Maps, Mapquest, Yahoo Maps, Rand McNally and even AAA have failed me. You would think that at least one of them would be able to help me plan a driving trip to Mexico.

18 responses to “Purely For Research Purposes, Of Course

  1. Have you tried calling AAA? It might be better than the website 🙂

    • There you go again. Giving sensible advice. Silly, . 😛
      Seriously though, I’ll call them tomorrow. I am just surprised that it is so hard to get directions and/or distances for Mexican destinations if you live in the US. Canada? No problem, but isn’t Mexico still part of North America, too?

      • I wouldn’t really recommend driving in Mexico… if something were to happen, I don’t think getting a tow truck or getting rescued would be as easy as it is in the States.
        Why not just fly?

      • Yep. All sorts of things can go wrong. But I won’t let that stop me. In any adventure, we do our best to take those possibilities into account and to plan accordingly. Plus, I shall have up to three companions if they can work out visa issues and if I can figure out travel times, leaving and returning dates, etc. Two of us have a basic knowledge of Spanish and one is from Portugal. Portuguese is not exactly like Spanish, but in our experiences, it is not too difficult to communicate between the two languages.
        Actually, I own an atlas with Mexican roads. (Yay, Rand McNally!) I can figure out everything on my own. I have just gotten too used to the convenience offered by the aforementioned websites.

      • Yeah, but I believe all those maping places have to have permission from the countries for all that. If you travel around google maps you see many countries with no info.

      • All true. It just surprises me that if you can purchase maps of a place, that not even one of the aforementioned sites has gotten permission to put up the roads or to calculate driving times and distances.
        It is not really a problem. I did it all by hand. I have 2005 road atlas of Canada, Mexico, and the U.S.. It is just a surprise.

      • It doesn’t surprise me, Mexico must not want to sell them…

Leave a Reply

