Don’t Wait Up

I’m going to the Grand Canyon tonight. I’ll be back on Monday. I do not know if I will take my laptop. I probably will not even take Dulcinea. Just me, a backpack, and some friends.

I just need to do my laundry, pack the backpack, and finish today’s errands and we’ll be leaving around 5pm.

Once more the token American amongst my friends, I set off for someplace new. It almost sounds like the beginning of a joke. “A Turk, a Spaniard, an Indian, a Portu … say! What do you call someone from Portugal, anyway? And an American all go to the Grand Canyon …”

As opposed to last night when it was all of the above, plus people from France and Italy walking into a bar …

Or lunch a couple of weeks ago when it was a French Canadian, a Mexican, a Honduran, three Spaniards, the guy from Portugal, two Indians, two Turks, a German, a New Zealander, two French, a Brit, a guy from China, and me. It is a strange, strange group of friends when I am the one who is supposed to define my society’s response.

Recently, a group of us were at a bar when a woman came up to me and said, “I have to talk to you because you seem pretty normal.” Now there’s a way to start a conversation! She went on to say that she had been watching and listening to our group and she wanted to know where we were all from. She had tried to guess from the accents but gave up after a while. The countries of that outing (not including me) were: France, Honduras, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, and Turkey. Until she heard me speak, she guessed that I was from Jamaica. *sighs* Dreadlocks do not a Jamaican make.

Anyway, this got waaay off topic. I’m going to the Grand Canyon. It should be fun. šŸ™‚

20 responses to “Don’t Wait Up

  1. As opposed to last night when it was all of the above, plus people from France and Italy walking into a bar …
    … wherein they each yell “ouch!” in their respective languages?

  2. Leave the laptop. Take Dulcinea. Not like I get a vote, but I’m going to pretend I do, dammit! šŸ™‚
    Also, I wish I had such an eclectic group of friends. I hate Ohio. šŸ˜¦

    • Dulcinea is indeed tempting, but I think that space considerations shall force me to leave her. I’ll just take a harmonica instead.
      And the group of friends is wonderful. I now have places to stay in most of Eurasia should I ever get a chance to visit!

  3. Wouldn’t they just be a Portugese?
    For no reason whatsoever, your question reminds me of a quandary I’ve come across several times… what is the plural of ‘ho’? It seems to come up every now and again as they do tend to travel in packs (or would it be a hive… a swarm… a murder?)

    • I am sure that you are right and that it he would be called “a Portuguese” but for some reason that sounds plural to me. Or like it needs to be written as “a Portuguese man” or something like that.
      As for the plural of ho? I tend to think that it should be “hos” and that a group of them should either be “an egg” or “a gag.”
      Egg because of those pantyhose that used to come in plastic eggs and gag because … well, you have a vivid imagination, I am sure. šŸ˜‰

  4. Until she heard me speak, she guessed that I was from Jamaica. *sighs* Dreadlocks do not a Jamaican make.
    ******
    Did she ask you for pot?

  5. Have a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

