I Have Been Shocked and Awed by Stupidity

Georgia Congressman Calls Obama ‘Uppity’

Um, yeah. The sad thing is, I have been saying for quite a while now that some people have been calling him “arrogant” to avoid using that word. After all, they have the same number of syllables and the same cadence. One just avoids certain connotations.

And to tell the truth, I do not think that Obama is any more arrogant than any other Presidential candidate. Face it, in order to run for President, you have to believe that no one else could run the country as well as you could. So, yes. Every candidate is slightly arrogant. I do not see Obama behaving any more or less so than any other.

But “uppity?” That is a whole different can of worms. And someone from Georgia really should know better.

8 responses to “I Have Been Shocked and Awed by Stupidity

  1. Oh, agreed. I would say “What the hell was he thinking?” except that I’m sort of afraid I already know.

  2. To be fair, Colbert did point out that this wasn’t the stupidest thing Lynn Westmoreland has ever said. He voted against Katrina relief, wants to get rid of the Department of Education, and co-sponsored a bill to display the Ten Commandments in both Houses of Congress… which, when asked on the Colbert Report, he was unable to name more than “Don’t steal, don’t kill, don’t lie.”

    • Yeah, I read that. Westmoreland does indeed need a close encounter with the clue bat. Still, I had hoped that no one would have opened this particular can of worms. I should have known better.

Leave a Reply

