You turn the tap dance into your crusade

While I am happy to see that 200 former U.S. diplomats endorse Obama and that 61 Nobel Laureates in science endorse him as well, I am beginning to feel a bit pressured. And I am already for the guy. I honestly think that he is the best candidate for President that we have had since I became able to vote. Yes, he has flaws, but when I compare the accuracy of his statements with McCain’s, I would have to say that he is a breath of fresh air.

Like I have said before, his stance on science, technology, and education pretty much won me over. And in my opinion, a community organizer is exactly what the White House needs. After all, when the US was just starting out and much smaller, is that not what all of the great leaders were?

But will all of these endorsements have a backlash? When so many people are saying, “ooh! Look at this guy! He’s great!” won’t some people tune out just because he is becoming too popular? I know that I distrusted him when I saw how popular he was becoming. It was only after Obama began to release details of his strategies that I jumped on the bandwagon.

We are an interesting society. We do not trust too much popularity. We do not trust too much power. We like the underdog. I wonder whether Obama’s cult of personalty is approaching critical mass?

12 responses to “You turn the tap dance into your crusade

  1. Well, the McCain people have already played on the celebrity theme several times over; it’s hard to say whether or not that worked, considering everything else that was going on at the time. It wouldn’t surprise me if they pulled that out again, this time trying to emphasise what they see as Obama’s ‘elitist’ attitudes and his appeal to Not Normal People and so forth.

    • Yes, they have. And back then I kept laughing because I thought, “if this is the best that they’ve got, they need to dig deeper.”
      I do not think that it worked as well as they hoped since they have changed tactics. Actually, I think that them actually attacking him as a celebrity cannot do anything but backfire. People in the US like celebrities. Especially the common people. It is only the elite who dismiss celebrities as being without substance.

  2. Ok, I can see popularity being a liability, if it were empty popularity – if the comparisons to Britney Spears or Paris Hilton were valid. But Obama’s popular because he’s qualified, and incredibly so. Because he has good ideas, and knows how to express them. It bothers the hell out of me that this is perceived as a threat.
    The problem isn’t that Obama’s popular, it’s that he’s smart. This country doesn’t trust smart people. They’re supposed to be scientists, or bankers, or doctors, or some other profession that sits patiently in an ivory tower until the people in charge need them, and stay shut up in the meantime. Smart people aren’t achievers – they’re “advisors.” Achievers are movie-star heroes, who take decisive action and spout cool catch phrases. The American Dream is that anybody can succeed, and when smart people do it by being smart, they remind the rest of us that aren’t.
    See, the prerequisite to being ‘elitist’ is ‘elite.’ The President shouldn’t be “just another guy,” and we’ve seen what happens when he is. The President should be the best a nation of 300 million has to offer, and anything less is unacceptable. But that’s undemocratic – that destroys the notion that anybody can do it.

    • But Obama’s popular because he’s qualified … [i]t bothers the hell out of me that this is perceived as a threat.
      It is funny, but that does not bother me at all. I have come to think of that as par for the course.
      I do not know if you grew up with your parents telling you to be smart but not too smart. Did you get lectures about how you would have to be twice as smart as your classmates and work three times as hard if you wanted to get anywhere … but be willing to suck it up and be the bigger man if someone mistreated you because they were threatened by your competence?
      I did. And many other lessons of how to excel at being privately smart but publicly non-threatening.
      Because you are right. Intelligence is intimidating. Especially when it comes from unexpected quarters.
      And yeah. The President should be the best we have to offer. But the words “all men are created equal” only refers to rights and opportunities, not abilities. People should remember that.

      • I did. And many other lessons of how to excel at being privately smart but publicly non-threatening.
        I didn’t. I got told pretty much from birth that I was brilliant, and never to be afraid to show it. In retrospect, I’m pretty sure I’m nowhere near as smart as they were telling me I was, but at least it did do wonders for my self-esteem in a time when I didn’t have much otherwise.

  3. Today’s PvP covers your point pretty well.

Leave a Reply

