Randomosity – now in convenient bite-sized portions!

  • My cat, Fido, turned 14 in July. He is in exceedingly good health. My only concern had been the small lump under his chin, but since it is not growing and causes him no pain, the vet says just to keep an eye on it.
  • I have had a run of interviews lately. I do not want to say where because every time I make such knowledge public, things fall through. All the interviews have been positive though and more are to come. So we shall see what happens.
  • I am not much for zombies but World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War is a phenomenal book. I read it weeks ago and it is still coloring the way that I look at the world: how interconnected we all are; how our global economy and black markets could effect plague vectors; the ways that different societies, governments, and individuals respond to crises … yeah. You should give it a look. It is not excessively gory, mainly because it is not truly a horror novel. It is a series of interviews with survivors from this fictional zombie apocalypse. Each of the characters has their own voice, their own viewpoint, and in this way Max Brooks succeeds in showing you an entire world as it succumbs to, struggles through and cleans up after the greatest threat to humanity in history. Highly recommended if you like well thought out and engaging fiction.
  • I also read The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. Go out and pick it up. I had heard good reviews of it from various sources and skimmed it in the bookstore. The first page was the lure. The prose was a bit of peanut butter or a pretty feathered fly. I decided that I had to check it out of the library. By page fifty, I was drawn in. I did not even realize that I was no longer free. Around page 100, I had been caught. I could not escape, nor did I want to. I went out and purchased the book that afternoon and devoured the next five hundred or so pages with gusto. And then I read it again.
  • Patrick Rothfuss also has a blog. On Monday, he put up a post that I found interesting. It was PSA – Why You Shouldn’t Vote. It was not some hokey YouTube video being all facetious and trying to sway you into voting. He is seriously trying to get people to think and to be responsible. I liked it.
  • And as if I were not suggesting enough for people to read, here is an article in the New Yorker called Late Bloomers. It is about genius and our perhaps mistaken tendency to associate it with youth.
  • I really enjoy the show “The Mentalist” on CBS. If Uri Geller were to give up on the spoon bending and instead become a fusion of James Randi and Gregory House and then started solving mysteries for the California Bureau of Investigation, you would get something like this show.
  • I am tired and hungry. Maybe I shall make quesadillas. They are wonderfully easy and quick.
  • I desire a ukulele.
12 responses to “Randomosity – now in convenient bite-sized portions!

  1. I’m evil…
    The sequel to The Name of the Wind is available for preorder at Amazon.
    I also really enjoyed it, btw. 🙂

    • Re: I’m evil…
      I know it is! And it must be mine! 🙂
      By the way, I remember that earlier this year you recommended a book “for people who like magical realism” like me but I was foolish and did not write down what it was or who wrote it. If you still remember who or what it was … or just feel like making a recommendation, I would love to hear it.

  2. i love zombies and i still haven’t read that book. really, what is wrong with me???
    Also, i miss you. are you coming to party?

Leave a Reply

