Day One is Done

The first day of National Novel Writers Month is over. I have only done 884 words today. I blame the fact that I spent so much of it traveling, running errands and generally attempting to be useful. I’ll know better tomorrow.

More writing. Fewer distractions.

Even though I only finished about half of what I wanted to accomplish for my first day, I feel pretty good. It is a beginning. And I can feel the potential. I am stretching the old creative writing muscles for the first time in ages. I have to expect that I would be a little bit rusty. Tomorrow might be easier or harder but if I keep working, I will finish. It does not have to be great. It does not have to be perfect. I just need to accomplish my goals. I can revise it in December.

Leave a Reply

