Mad Scientist in Training

I can safely let the cat out of the bag now.

A couple of weeks ago, I was in Chicago interviewing at two places. One was the University of Chicago. The other was at Fermilab. The University of Chicago one was a decent job. OK pay. Nice people. The interview went well and I felt that I could do a decent job if they chose to hire me.

The Fermilab job? It blew me away with the tour and an interview that literally took all day! I swear, I must have talked to every person in the accelerator division. By the end of the day, I was lucky to be speaking English and not some bizarre mishmash of mathematics, astrophysics, français, and español! (The latter two were due to the fact that the head of Fermilab is French and I met several people around the lab speaking Spanish.)

Still I had done my best and I guess that my best was good enough because today, I got my offer. Or to put it another way, I’m going to be playing with some of the coolest and most expensive toys on earth!

So, I’m moving to Chicago sometime in the near future. More details to come.

94 responses to “Mad Scientist in Training

  1. Congratulations!!
    And what a time to be moving to Chi-town!
    BTW, I’m so coming to visit once you’re settled…LAX to ORD tix are pretty inexpensive πŸ˜‰

  2. AWESOME!!
    Heh. I now know someone who works at Fermilab…sweet.

    • Yeah! From Los Alamos National Labs as a Telescope Operator for a cerenkov telescope to Fermilab as an Accelerator Operator! If I ever leave this job, the only thing cooler would have to be something like the LHC! πŸ™‚

  3. YAY! Congrats! (We’ll miss you, but I’m happy that you got the job)

  4. Oh, HELL yeah!
    Congratulations, a million times.

  5. Congratulations! Great news!

    • Thanks! And yes, it is!
      Also, I have hesitated in responding about a card because I was not certain about where I will be this season. I really do want one, but I hope that you do not mind if I wait until tonight or tomorrow to give you an address.

      • That’s fine – the poll will be open until Thanksgiving, although of course I won’t be sending anything out until the Monday after T’giving at the earliest.

  6. Congratulations!! That’s fantastic news, and it sounds like just the sort of job you’re going to love. And Chicago is a great town!

    • I love Chicago. I have not lived there since I was a boy. In fact, Fermilab is only a few miles from one of the places that I lived!
      Not so fond of the evil winters, but every place has trade-offs.

  7. Congratulations!
    You deserve a beyond-awesome job.

  8. Hooray!! That’s lovely news.

  9. Dude, congratulations! I am really happy for you!

  10. Hooray! What wonderful news!

  11. congrats!
    let me know if you need any help picking out a place to live… or finding things to do once you are here.

  12. (grins) I have so many neat things still to show you in chicago… and then, of course, I’ll expect you to return the favor once you get settled in.
    once again, congrats! πŸ™‚

  13. Kick ass! Delicious sausages and fat guys with hilarious mustaches, here you come!

  14. Job sounds awesome and right up your alley.

  15. “Department of Energy’s Office of Science and the home of the Tevatron”
    lol, – the TEVATRON. I hope megatron and unicron don’t show up in a jealous rage.
    Now GO young man and find that God particle before CERN does!

    • It is only after reading your reply that I realize that I have gone from working on a project that was given the Spanish word for “miracle” to one that has the potential to find the God particle. πŸ˜›
      Megatron and Unicron vs. the Tevatron? Hmm. Could be rough. My favorite was always Jazz … but I don’t think that he’ll be much help. Where’s Optimus Prime when you need him?

      • All the cool kids loved Jazz but he/it never stuck to the battle plans and always improved at the worst possible time! πŸ™‚
        Keep me up to date on your work, I am actually fascinated……..I came this II close to getting a mathematics degree focusing on quantum physics. But music stole me away……..

      • not anonymous – just captaingeneric

      • Yeah, I figured that it was you. πŸ™‚
        And I’ll do my best to keep you updated. Of course, it’s always nice to hear more about what you are up to … hint, hint.

  16. I’m so late, but nonetheless: that’s fucking awesome. Many, many, many congratulations.

  17. Congratulations! I can’t wait to hear more about this.

Leave a Reply

