a month, a year, and other passages of time

I have been in Illinois for a month now. I have not done much exploration. I blame Dick Cheney. It seems like the thing to do.

A year ago, I was driving across Illinois on my way to OH. I remember that it was unseasonably warm. I could use some of that weather right now!

Two nights ago, I went salsa dancing in Naperville. It was a nice place. I enjoyed it far more than the place I had gone for the past two weeks. Mental note though. Negative temperatures and a two block walk do not mix. Next time, get money from the ATM before parking. Even though I was wearing enough layers to choke a moose, the wind tore through me like a buzzsaw through kleenex. I suspect that is why I was sick last night and under the weather today.

On the other hand, teaching the bachelorette party to salsa, bachata, merengue, and cha-cha was amazingly fun. This is the second time I have done that. Why is it that bachelorette parties seem like so much fun but bachelor parties seem so boring? I hope that if I ever have one, mine will be a blast!

Last night, I talked to a friend. We joked. We laughed. She invited me to come for a visit. I think that I will go. I have some money in my savings and some days off in March. I have not seen her in a long time and it will be a nice break. I have been told that I had better come prepared to dance. I think that I can handle that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

