Why are we doing this rally, again?

I am weird I guess. I cannot subscribe to externally imposed rivalries. Maybe it is from all the moving. Maybe I just do not feel like I am part of any particular group. All I know is, while I will happily play a sport with friends, and while I can feel competitive towards an individual, rallies rarely have any effect on me.

34 responses to “Why are we doing this rally, again?

  1. I always found pep rallies to be incredibly boring, but I’ve never cared about sports. Well, okay, I scream at the television during figure skating coverage, but I am weird, and sometimes the commentators say excruciatingly stupid things. 😉 Also, the Olympics.
    I cannot subscribe to externally imposed rivalries.
    I think that’s the key to it, really. The point of a pep rally is to assume that everybody in the room agrees that one team is better than the other. Which seems so very silly to me.

    • Well, okay, I scream at the television during figure skating coverage, but I am weird, and sometimes the commentators say excruciatingly stupid things.
      Yes. Yes, they do. 🙂
      Also, the Olympics.
      I completely agree about the Olympics. I really tend to get into watching my fencing matches. And gymnastics. And skating. But in all of those cases, I am more into watching individuals who have aroused my passion. I rarely base my support upon the accident of geographic location.

      • But in all of those cases, I am more into watching individuals who have aroused my passion.
        That’s exactly it. Justin and I had such a great time watching the Beijing Games last summer, with all requisite yelling at the television.
        and I seem to have come to a consensus that, for some weird reason, US figure skating commentators are particularly egregrious, at least over the past few years. They used to be much better, and I have no idea what happened.

      • Yes! Loved the Beijing Games. I cannot wait until next year for the 2010 Olympics. I hope that we will find out soon whether Chicago will host in 2012 …!
        As for what happened with US figure skating commentators … I blame our television executives … they are doing anything but embiggening our minds and hire dumber and dumber people in attempts to hasten our cromulence.* Maybe the Hulu ads are right and they really are out to eat our tasty brains!
        [*] Forgive the Simpsons references. I could not resist.

      • they are doing anything but embiggening our minds and hire dumber and dumber people in attempts to hasten our cromulence
        You know…that’s not entirely implausible.

      • What can I say? I occasionally say smart things. Do not read too much into that though. Third shift work is getting to me.

      • You often say very clever things, sir. 🙂 And your third shift is my morning, so there.

      • I shall try to remember that next time that I am on this shift. You are a wonderful distraction when things here are smooth (i.e. boring). 🙂

  2. This is exactly how I felt about pep rallies in high school. Thank God I never got called down from the bleachers to participate (YES THEY DID THAT TOO).

    • Ugh! I do not remember my high school going that far. I just remember being annoyed at the whole thing. I do not care if other people get all worked up about something, but why did I have to participate?

  3. I dunno, I didn’t mind them. Although I went to a slightly unusual school… lots of people whose parents worked in the WPAFB base labs, so we had an unconscious preference for geeks. Most popular boy in my class was the one who’d started the star trek fan club in junior high, and the basketball stars were often in AP calc, and in the student government.
    So… we didn’t have many real jocks, and I don’t think anyone took it too seriously. Which is what makes rivalries so much fun… it’s fun to have opponents, and it’s fun to root for your team. I’ve seen this playing wii tennis with friends, or trivial pursuit, or taboo… any team game, especially if there’s a bit of screw-your-neighbor involved. If you’re not taking it seriously, it’s a lot of fun. It works on a larger scale too, I’ve found… It’s easy to strike up a comfortable conversation with a stranger if they went to OSU, but right after that, UM is the next easiest. We already share something informal and absurd, and that eliminates a lot of the stress in finding common footing. I’m pretty sure school rivalries are supposed to be more like sibling rivalries than warring tribes.
    Which is not to say that that’s how every 15 year old sees it. But… like essentially *everything* that large portions of the population do (from drunken parties, to MMO’s, to standardized testing) it can be brilliant if it’s done right… and there’s plenty of examples of it being done poorly too.

    • I’m pretty sure school rivalries are supposed to be more like sibling rivalries than warring tribes.
      If my experience had been less like the warring tribes analogy, I would probably not be so befuddled by rivalries.

  4. I was bored at them. I’ve never really been a sports person.
    Martial arts competitions are about the only thing I’ll watch.

    • I wonder who first came up with rallies and why. Looking at my friends, I can tell that they have not been as successful at building support for sports as some people might hope.
      And martial arts competitions are indeed cool. What do you like to watch?

      • I like mixed martial arts where someone might use boxing techniques and then do some kickboxing.
        But I’ve watched a bunch of “regular” matches as well. Karate, Kickboxing, etc. =)

  5. Imo sport rivalries are a great and healthy way to exhaust our (mostly masculine) natural aggression through non-destructive means. Where I come from there aren’t many sport rivalries — people exhaust their aggression by getting into school fights (when they are young) or full-scale wars (when they are older). I have this vague feeling you would prefer the American way.

  6. Pep rallies promote small scale jingoism towards neighboring communities, which in some cases may lay the ground work for the mindset that “they live over there and are different, therefore they are subhuman and we are badasses.”
    Though I played in the band, so we mostly ignored what went on and goofed off.

Leave a Reply

