The game is afoot!

I have a Facebook account and have for quite some time, but I rarely use it. It is the same with Twitter. I am not much for tweeting. I like the invites available on FB and the ways that it can let me know what is going on in my area, but I prefer to write here. So that is what I am about to do.

Everyone and their sister will be writing about Michael Jackson, Farrah Fawcett, and Ed McMahon. I do not have a lot to say about those last two. Yes, I occasionally watched The Tonight Show with Carson. Yes, I had seen him on Publisher’s Clearinghouse. Yes, I remember him with Dick Clarke. I never had anything really for or against him.

Farrah? She was pretty, but not my style. I was aware of her as the real life wife of the Six Million Dollar Man and wasn’t she on Charlie’s Angels? Meh.

But Michael? Michael I could write about. But I will not. I feel like far too many people are doing that and I do not know if I have anything to add.

Instead, I will just say that I do not know how to feel about the new Sherlock Holmes flick coming out this Christmas. I have been a fan of the character since I was a boy. I read through all of the short stories and the novels, but I have not read most of them recently, so I would not be slavishly devoted to continuity between the film and the literature. On the other hand, I do want continuity of character. Holmes should act like Holmes no matter what medium he is in. The same goes for Watson, Inspector Lestrade, and Mrs. Hudson. Any other characters who might appear were never that major and liberties taken with them will not be as noticeable to my eyes.

I have no fear about Robert Downey Jr.’s acting abilities. I know that he can put forth a brilliant performance. The same goes for Jude Law. I just fear for too much titillation, too many explosions, and not enough mystery.

But take a look and see for yourself …

20 responses to “The game is afoot!

  1. Where is my calm, collected Holmes? Hollywood, what are you doing?

  2. Ah, a mailing list I’m on has been abuzz with this. The know-it-alls have pointed out that Holmes indeed did like to box and did dabble in drugs. So at least that’s accurate.
    I personally have never read any of the books and only vaguely remember seeing Holmes mysteries on PBS maybe two decades ago.
    So if nothing else, this movie will be ridiculously entertaining. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, the boxing, drugs, and martial arts are all accurate. I remember that much. And even if it turns out to be all flash and no substance, I will probably enjoy it in a “summer blockbuster” kind of way.
      But I stand by my concern mixed with anticipation.

  3. I have been told — and, to be fair, rereading Doyle is on my list of things to do when I get home — that this version of Holmes is actually a lot closer to the books than the deerstalker-and-pipe version we’re used to seeing. I must admit I was a bit doubtful when I first heard that, but I’m going to wait to actually comment on it till I’ve started my reread.

    • The boxing, drugs, and martial arts are all in the stories. He was never interested in women (that was always Watson who was quite the ladies’ man to tell the truth) with the possible exception of Irene Adler, but it was always hinted that this was more because she had outwitted him more than an actual attraction.
      The thing is, even though “Young Sherlock Holmes” is completely inaccurate, I still enjoy it. So it is possible that I will enjoy this movie as well. I am just concerned. Do we really need to inject the Hollywood formula elements of explosions, mismatched buddies, and the like into every movie?

  4. Eeeenteresting, I agree it goes against my usual assumptions about the series. We shall see.

    • Yep. And I will probably go see it. I just feel like they are trying to “modernize” Holmes by inserting unnecessary explosions, sexual tensions, and the typical “buddy-cop” thing. A lot of the things in the preview really do look right. The boxing. The martial arts. The drug use. Watson appears competent. Holmes’ lockpicks. You get the idea. But some things seem like they just took elements from every action movie of the past twenty years and said, “ooh! Let’s include them in here!”

  5. looks like masterpiece theater after taking some PCP and a cocktail of uppers with a downer thrown in for good measure

Leave a Reply

