I think so, Brain, but me and Pippi Longstocking? What would the children look like?

I just got a text from an old friend. He asked me whether I had dropped him as a friend on Facebook. I hastily explained that I had just dropped Facebook completely, not him in particular. He was placated by this but it set me to pondering1 what the proper netiquette is for things like that.

I suppose that I could have put up a status update in advance stating that I was going to disable my account, but how much advance warning would be “proper?” Also, status updates can seem to get lost in the shuffle when people have a lot of friends. Would a note be better? A note could explain that it is nothing personal, I just have a lot on my plate and as long as Facebook is active, I would be tempted to read that rather than do other things. Best to remove the temptation entirely.

Personally, I feel that both of those options are making too big a deal out of something small. I just disabled my account. I didn’t suddenly run off to the outback and join a tribe of aborigines.2 It’s nothing big. And anyone who wants to find me can do so via the normal channels. Just not Facebook. For now.

In other news, this is my final weekend before shift rotation restarts. Ah, summer. Where have you gone? I had plans! Big plans. And I frittered away so much time. *sighs* Oh well. I guess that I shall either have to try to accomplish the same things during shift, or put them off until the next time we have a shutdown.


[1] Hence the title of this post.

[2]Although considering the reactions of some of my friends, I suspect that my sudden withdrawal would have been better accepted if I had done exactly that!

8 responses to “I think so, Brain, but me and Pippi Longstocking? What would the children look like?

  1. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!
    That’s my favorite “are you thinking what I’m thinking” moment ever! AAAAAAAAAAH!
    People get touchy about facebook. But hey look, the ol’ FB got you in touch with an old friend even AFTER you disabled your account. Facebook is clearly now the ultimate power in the universe.

    • I think that my favorite “are you pondering what I’m pondering” moments are the ones that break the mold. Like the one where Pinky says, “yes, I am!” or the one where you see everything from Pinky’s point of view so when Brain asks the question, it’s no longer a non sequitur. But of the random answers that Pinky spouts, this one is easily my favorite. šŸ™‚
      And now I am imagining the Brain attempting to use the power of Facebook to take over the world!

  2. But Brain….
    My Fave as well though i do like
    But what are we going to do with that many rubber bands.

  3. It bugs me, personally, when I drop someone and they bitch at me for it. If I wanted to talk about it, I’d have asked you.
    I just don’t love that whole dynamic. As if I somehow have a responsibility to have someone friended on a social network. As if that makes us “friends” and not just “some dude that shows up on a list”.
    I didn’t even notice that you dropped facebook. And I doubt I’d have been ticked if I’d noticed you dropped me. If I thought it was something I did, I might ask, but honestly, you strike me as the sort of person who would say something if someone ticked you off.

Leave a Reply

