I’ve been one poor correspondent. I’ve been too, too hard to find.

I got bored between exploring and studying various particle accelerators and decided to take a break and to do something different. What to do? What to do?

To the internet!

I do not remember how I wound up thinking about it, but somehow while reading something completely unrelated on imdb, I thought about the fact that scientists cannot explain how bumblebees fly. Tiny little wings. Big, bouncing body. Can’t possibly work, right? But it does. Shows what we silly scientists know.

Except that this little tidbit that everyone knows is wrong. Dead wrong. Physicists know how bumblebees fly. We understand it quite well. So how did the myth get started? I did a quick google search and found a site which gave a bit of history about the bumblebee flight myth.

This situation reminds me of one of my favorite quotes from Neil Gaiman’s Black Orchid miniseries. “Most of the things ‘everybody knows’ are wrong; the rest are merely unreliable.”

Leave a Reply

