words that never come true spoken to hurt nobody but you

I am nearly finished with The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón. It has been quite a ride; almost labyrinthine in its way. Reviews compare it to García Márquez, Pérez Reverte, Borges, Eco, and Byatt. While I have read most of those authors, I am unfamiliar with A.S. Byatt. Now I shall have to read Posession since two reviews made the comparison.

That got me thinking about my favorite books. I have read a lot of them. Here are some of the ones that have stuck with me:

  • Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes
  • The Once and Future King by T.H. White
  • Ruled Britannia by Harry Turtledove
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez
  • Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel García Márquez
  • The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
  • Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn
  • Blindness by José Saramago
  • The Gospel According to Jesus Christ by José Saramago
  • The Stone Raft by José Saramago
  • Les Misérables by Victor Hugo
  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry
  • Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore
  • The Stupidest Angel by Christopher Moore
  • The Discworld Series by Terry Pratchett
  • Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
  • Asimov’s R. Daneel Olivaw novels
  • Virtual Unrealities by Alfred Bester
  • The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman
  • Bone by Jeff Smith
  • The Odyssey by Homer

There are other books that I like as well, but these are the first ones that popped into my head.

ETA: More faves:

  • Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  • Stuart Little by E.B. White
  • The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White
24 responses to “words that never come true spoken to hurt nobody but you

  1. I’m reading Ruled Britannia right now. It’s one I go back to a lot when I don’t have anything new around. ^_^

  2. +1 Monkees reference.

  3. Possession has a very similar labyrinthine charm to The Shadow of the Wind (which I ought to reread sometime; it’s sitting on my bookcase and looking at me). I haven’t much cared for Byatt’s other books, but it’s still a favourite of mine. And, now that I’ve read The Club Dumas, I can definitely see the similarities.
    I do have a recommendation if you’ve got any interest in wandering into the world of YA fantasty — Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. It’s mainly set in northern Italy, the hero is the daughter of a bookbinder, and books are literally magical.

  4. I’m still thankful for your gift of Ella Minnow Pea all those years ago — a great example of lipogrammatics, first off, but also a really beautifully told story.

Leave a Reply

