“Which three books would you have taken?”

I’m watching the movie “The Time Machine” from 1960 starring Rod Taylor and Yvette Mimieux. I love this movie. I have not watched it in years. I think that I need to buy a copy of it. And the original story by H.G. Wells. Of all the stories that I have read by him, The Time Machine is my favorite by far. The Invisible Man, The Island of Doctor Moreau, The War of the Worlds, and First Men in the Moon are all good, but nothing ever quite matched The Time Machine in my eyes.

Maybe it is because that was the first book that I read by him. Maybe it is the memory of watching the movie with my mom on a summer Sunday afternoon in my childhood. Maybe it is because it was the first time travel novel that I read. Whatever the reason, I adore that book.

I am eating tamales oaxaqueñas, brought to me by a neighbor who thinks that I do not eat enough. I love my neighbors. Sometimes it is good to be a tall, slim bachelor in a neighborhood full of Mexican families.

Leave a Reply

