I … HAVE … THE POWER!

For no reason that I can discern, I have theme music from the old 1960’s Godzilla movies stuck in my head. And I want to watch a movie starring Danny Kaye, in particular, “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.”

But no. This is not to be.

On the other hand, I got my jumpsuit today! No, it’s not what you’re thinking of. Remember Ghostbusters? Remember the tan jumpsuits that they wore? Yeah. That’s what I’m talking about. No, I do not look like Winston in it. I am far too pale. And none of the Ghostbusters had dreadlocks.

I also scheduled my introductory walkaround for the antiproton source. I hope to have my Safety training manual done by then and to take my test in that either right before or right after. Yay, I have a plan!

Safety finished in October ’09. Start working on Antiproton Source.
Controls finished in January ’10. Start working on Proton Source.
Antiproton done in March/April ’10. Start working on the Tevatron.
Proton done in June ’10. Start working on Main Injector/Recycler.
Tevatron done in August ’10.
MI/Recycler done in October ’10.
Take Op 2 Test by my birthday in 2011.

It is possible that I might be able to pull this off faster, but I am trying to give myself some leeway. If I really stick to that schedule, I will probably be ready for the Op 2 Test by next Thanksgiving. Either way, once I pass that, I will be eligible to take graduate classes in Accelerator Physics and earn my M.S.! Woo hoo! The fact that the classes are often held at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque is also an incentive.

I know that this is not the most interesting post. I am mainly writing it all down to keep myself motivated.

4 responses to “I … HAVE … THE POWER!

  1. i like it πŸ™‚ good luck!

Leave a Reply

