it’s been the ruin of many a poor boy and God I know I’m one

Good: I finally was able to re-install Ubuntu on my laptop and get my video display working!

Bad: Immediately afterwards, the laptop overheated and shut itself down.

Good: The laptop was up just long enough for me to verify that I had indeed copied all of my music and photos onto my spare hard drive.

Bad: The laptop has not been able to boot up since then. Looks like it is time to finally give up and buy a new one.

Good: Thanks to the wonders of Netflix, I am finally watching the first season of Lost!

Bad: I should watch less Lost and sleep more.

Good: I think that I have the correct ingredients in my fridge to make a nice linguine alfredo with broccoli and chicken.

Bad: I am far to exhausted to do anything but sleep and watch Lost Season 1 on DVD.

Good: Barack Obama won the Nobel Peace Prize! He is only the third sitting US President to win it.

Bad: I’m actually torn on this one. Not because I think that the committee’s reasons were invalid, but because I feel that their case would have been strengthened if they had waited for more of his plans and works to bear fruit.

Good: One of my co-workers is really into swing dancing. I convinced him to go to Esteban’s on Wednesday night for swing night. Apparently, he and his girlfriend had a lot of fun. They agreed with me that the bartender makes the best mojitos in the Chicago area and they loved the dance floor. They will definitely come back again and possibly join me for salsa night on Tuesdays and Saturdays.

Bad: While it will be nice to actually have a work friend there, a part of me is nervous about my work life crossing over with my slowly growing social life.

Speaking of the aforementioned social life, things there are improving. Details when things are “stable” enough to actually warrant mentioning. If I talk about them now, they shall disappear in a Heisenbergian puff of ephemerality.

Last but not least, I feel the desire to engage in Mad Science! Tampering in Things That Man Was Not Meant To Know! Mua Ha Ha Ha HA! But first, I should buy a lab coat.

10 responses to “it’s been the ruin of many a poor boy and God I know I’m one

  1. #1: awesome subject line.
    #2: Speaking of the aforementioned social life, things there are improving. Details when things are “stable” enough to actually warrant mentioning. If I talk about them now, they shall disappear in a Heisenbergian puff of ephemerality.
    Thank you for being a God of the English language – this statement made my morning.
    #3: If you buy a lab coat, you had better take pictures and post them. It’s only right.
    Get some sleep when you can! 🙂

    • #1 thanks. While I was finishing the above post, a metal-folk version of that song was playing on the radio. I wish I had brought my phone with me. I would have used Shazam to find out who did the cover.
      #2 I don’t know if I would say that I was a god. Demigod perhaps, but I am neither avatar nor apotheosis. 😉
      #3 Pictures of me are a rarity, but I’ll see what I can do.

  2. I feel that their case would have been strengthened if they had waited for more of his plans and works to bear fruit.
    ————
    +100!!!
    Btw, you can find out your temperature by doing
    >acpi -t -B
    (you may need to apt-get it first)

  3. Lost Season 1 rocks.
    Everything after that? Well… better enjoyed with friends who like to yell at the TV.

    • I’ve heard that, although I have also heard that it redeems itself in the most recent season or two. It can’t be worse than the most recent two seasons of Heroes … can it?

Leave a Reply

