Lying awake intent at tuning in on you

Here is some more coolth from NASA Earth, its moon, Jupiter, and three Galilean moons … all from Mars!

All I want to do today is relax about the apartment, watching Alfred Hitchcock Presents and Batman the Animated Series DVDs and drinking hot cider. The aforementioned DVDs could be replaced by 50’s SF, Danny Kaye movies, or … well actually just about anything from the 50’s would work in this mood. Movies with special effects by George Pal or Ray Harryhausen. Mysteries or dramas starring Humphrey Bogart. Farces or thrillers with Cary Grant. Just about anything with Jimmy Stewart, Gary Cooper, or John Wayne.

I could deal with going for a walk through the park first. Preferably with a loving dog and/or a sweetie. We would see the changing leaves and feel the biting winds and smell autumn all around. And then coming back to my apartment, putting some Ella Fitzgerald, Bobby McFerrin, Nat King Cole, Harry Connick Jr., Sarah Vaughn, or Vince Guaraldi in the CD player, popping some popcorn on the stove and heating some cider in the electric kettle, we could wrap ourselves up in the quilt that my great-grandmother made for me when I was a baby and snuggle against the chill as we killed the music and watched the one of the aforementioned movies.

It would be nice if in this hypothetical world, I could jump in a pile of leaves. And if I had both a dog and a cat, like I did when I was growing up. And if the former lay at my feet, tail thumping lazily while we watched the movie, and the latter purred on my lap. Add a hypothetical gf in my arms, and this dream is like a big bowl of ice cream on a hot summer’s day. But I am not greedy. I would settle for the pets.

But I am at work and will be until 8:15pm, give or take a few minutes. I have no Hitchcock TV DVDs, nor most of the ones that I crave. I have no pets. And while there may be eventual potential for one of the last things I mentioned … things are not there yet.

4 responses to “Lying awake intent at tuning in on you

  1. Dude, I have a big pile of leaves I just raked together today. Come down to Bloomington and jump in them before they get snowed on or something.

Leave a Reply

