I’m all about denial, but can’t denial let me believe?

So, I recently discovered sixwordstories. Pretty nifty idea. Tell a story in only six words, although truthfully, these are not stories but tag lines, conversation snippets, propositions, proverbs, platitudes, and semi-philosophical proems.

But I still like them. I even submitted a couple. They are nothing special, nor are they meant to be. My writing muscles are rusty, so I figured that this was a good way to stretch them without eating into time I should be spending on studying. But, even so. A part of me would love to stretch them out someday into full blown stories.

I really liked the one that dcdot2dot put forth earlier today. Can a person be homesick for their dreams? If you assume that a person can spend time living in them, and if you assume that a person can be as comfortable as they are (or even more comfortable than) in the real world, then yes. And I think that in the past, I have been a person like that. But I do not think that I am any more. I look back at those dreams and while they still have appeal, I cannot live there. And I miss that.

4 responses to “I’m all about denial, but can’t denial let me believe?

  1. Have you seen these six-sentence stories? Some of them are amazing. (I found out about it when my friend Sarina had one accepted a while ago.)

Leave a Reply

