fish are jumpin’ and the cotton is high

Last night we had Jazz Night. The only rule: no “smooth jazz.” So I brought Miles Davis, Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holliday, Thelonious Monk, Charlie Parker, Charles Mingus, Benny Goodman, Bobby McFerrin, Art Blakey, Duke Ellington, Jelly Roll Morton, Sarah Vaughn, Lena Horne, Big Bad Voodoo Daddy, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Louis Armstrong, and Dizzy Gillespie. And the things is … my co-workers’ collections put mine to shame.

Tonight is Blues Night. I wanted to bring in Howlin’ Wolf, Junior Wells, Buddy Guy, and the like … but I would have had to burn them onto CDs. All of my music from them, I have downloaded. And sadly, I have been too tired this weekend to do any burning. I work all night, come home, fall asleep, and wake up just in time to shower, change clothes, and go back to work. Oh well. Tomorrow night is my last night for a while. I cannot wait to get back to a daytime schedule.

8 responses to “fish are jumpin’ and the cotton is high

  1. It’s so cool that you and your co-workers share music. Sounds like something to look forward to each night.

Leave a Reply

