On, on they send. On without end …

I am in Columbus, OH. I treated myself and went to see Avatar last night. Very fun movie. Wonderful eye candy. It is almost enough to make you forget about/forgive the cliches and plot holes. I saw it in 3D and if you have the opportunity to do so, I highly recommend that you see it that way. The effects were not distracting, but actually flowed with the movie. Like I said, “eye candy.”

I want to do a more in depth analysis of the movie, but I really do not have time. So here are a couple of reviews that I felt did a good job of touching upon my feelings. First, here is John Scalzi’s Avatar review. John Scalzi is a science fiction author. A very good one. His review sums up the way that I felt after walking out of the cinema. And Peter David’s Avatar review while more critical does hit some of the points that I felt after sleeping on it, although I was far more immersed in the experience than it appears he was.

No one that I have seen mentions feeling a link to Tarzan in a particular scene. I have read comparisons to Fern Gully, Dances With Wolves, The Last Samurai, ThunderCats, The Smurfs, Aliens, and Starship Troopers. I can see all of that, but what about the old Tarzan movies? Oh wait. I am referencing something from before even my own lifetime. Why am I surprised that no one else is thinking about it?

Finally, today’s XKCD is about Christmas and physicists. As usual, it made me smile.

4 responses to “On, on they send. On without end …

  1. I ❤ that xkcd! Merry holiday of your choosing, Owen!

    • I choose Christmahanukwanzakah! As a physicist, I find a superposition of holidays to be most satisfying. 😉
      And I hope that your Hanukkah was as wonderful as you are.

Leave a Reply

