Release the Hermaphrobots!

Yeah.

The subject has nothing whatsoever to do with this post, nor is it from any movie, song, or play that I have ever seen or heard of. It was just something that popped into my head, begging to be released into the world.

Gosh darn it! Now I am probably going to dream about the darn things, resulting in some sort of story! I have been happily free of that little mania. Now my imagination is going to drag me back in, kicking and screaming.1

What was I saying? Oh, yes. I was going to write about the fact that the events from last Saturday could not possibly have prepared me from this one. I mean really. I understood even then that there were multiple possible explanations, but does reality really have to pick the oddest one whenever I am involved? Mistaken identity is just so … television.

In other news, I watched the first season of “Big Bang Theory” on DVD thanks to Netflix. I had seen an episode or two in the first season. But that was about it. It did not exactly rock my world. In fact, while there were a few good jokes, for the most part it annoyed me. Still, many of my friends absolutely adore it, so I figured I should give it a another try.

It still annoys me.

Yes, the jokes are occasionally very good. Yes, it is nice to see people who are into SF, fantasy, video games, and comic books on TV. But the fact that these are (for the most part) not full fledged characters really gets under my skin. I think that if just one of the four main guys showed qualities outside of the stereotypical, I would be OK. But no. In the very first episode that I saw before I even watched the DVDs, I saw the guys at a salsa class. Oooh look at them! See how funny it is to see physicists dancing?! Ha ha ha.

Yeah. You could not have tailored a worse intro to the series for me unless you threw in some blatant racism as well.

Don’t get me started on how Sheldon should not be able to have a roommate, let alone three friends. Or how all of the scientists are completely socially stunted. Or … no. I am going to stop now.

But the thing is, I want to like the show. I really want to like it. When the jokes are good, they are spot on. The actors are all quite talented. And Leonard is a particle physicist.2

But unless there is some major improvement during Season 2, I do not see myself making a great effort to keep up with it.


[1] No actual kicking nor screaming involved.

[2] Leonard? Really? Did they have to give the characters such typical geek names as “Leonard” and “Sheldon?” Come on! I know plenty of Mikes, Chrises, Dans and the like. *sighs*

12 responses to “Release the Hermaphrobots!

  1. I gave up on the show about 15 minutes into the first episode I saw, for the same reasons you describe. I think Beauty and the Geek didn’t bother me for the same reason because a) they were actual people trying to improve their social skills, and b) the ditzy women were far more scornworthy than the guys.

    • I have heard that. I have not watched that show myself though. Never really got into the “matchmaking reality show” thing. But nice to know that I am not alone.

  2. and all the girls are dumb blonds, not remotely geeky themselves.
    I, also, am annoyed.
    Happy to hear about the mistaken identity thing tho 🙂

    • and all the girls are dumb blonds, not remotely geeky themselves.
      That at least is not completely true in the first season. (I cannot speak for any subsequent seasons.) Penny, the main female, is not into science, SF, or comics it is true, but she has shown her prowess in video games by trouncing the boys in Halo. This little bonding moment was an isolated occurrence though. I do not know whether the producers felt that giving her that talent made her “too geeky” or what. :-/
      Also, there is a recurring character, played by Sara Gilbert who is a physicist in the same lab as Leonard. She is a match for any of the boys in science and when she is on, she usually has the best lines. She is easily one of the best characters on the show … but considering how little any of them are fleshed out, that really is not saying much.

      • That one’s the only character on the show I remotely like, mostly because she’s the only one I’ve seen who goes against tv stereotype: a confident, self-aware, sexually assertive female geek, in comparison to the Willow Rosenberg (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) types.

      • Yes! And if they made her a formal cast member as opposed to an occasional guest star, there is a decent chance that the show would improve!
        Not that I have anything against Willow, of course. 😉

Leave a Reply

