Boingy! Boingy! Boingy!

New Bobby McFerrin coming next month!
New Bobby McFerrin coming next month!
New Bobby McFerrin coming next month!

I might be a little excited. He has not had a new album in seven years! Now if he will just come to Chicago on a promotional tour …!

There are people who have learned of my love of Bobby who seem to think that my dreadlocks were inspired by his. A nice idea, but no. Admittedly, I am more likely to have done it because of him than Bob Marley … (what is it with black vocalists named Bob and dreadlocks, anyway?) but still, no.

I am one of the people who was listening to him before “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” came out. Spontaneous Inventions was the first jazz CD that I bought with my own money. It remains one of my absolute faves. And don’t even get me started on his collaborations with Yo Yo Ma and Chick Corea.

*sighs*

There is so much more that I would write here if I had the time. But I need to do some actual work. But I shall do that work, humming tunes like “Mañana Iguana,” “Beverly Hills Blues,” “Hush Little Baby,” and “Autumn Leaves.”

Leave a Reply

