¡Oye bebi! ¡Oye mámi! ¿Donde esta la “after party”?

I finished Bloodsucking Fiends yesterday. It was not bad. Not great, but not bad. It suffered, like many of Christopher Moore’s books, from an ending that seemed rushed. I sometimes think that Moore gets tired of writing after a while and thinks, “OK. Let’s end this book so that I can move on to something else.” Or perhaps, “ack! The deadline was a month ago and I’m only 2/3 done! I had better wrap this up!” Or maybe, “hmm. Funds are running low. All I have in the pantry is some old poi … and I have not lived in Hawaii for years!”

Anyway, it was good enough that I will probably read You Suck! in the near future.

The fact that I finished reading a book about vampires on Easter amuses me.

Actually, were it not for the fact that I briefly talked to other people, I would have completely forgotten that yesterday was Easter. After all, I worked all night. I slept most of the day. I have no family up here. It was really just another “owl shift day” as far as I was concerned.

I would have liked a nice big supper though. It would have been nice.

Oh well. At least I’m almost done with this month’s owl shift. Just tonight/tomorrow and I will be done for four more weeks! Yay!

8 responses to “¡Oye bebi! ¡Oye mámi! ¿Donde esta la “after party”?

  1. He does really seem to go on fast forward toward the end, no?
    I did like a few of the sad moments he managed to get into the book. A certain jerk begging for something comes to mind as a rather tear-jerking moment. I was uncomfortable with some of his writing for the woman. But yes, I will probably read You Suck sometime as well.

    • While I felt a little bad for that person’s situation, I never really liked him enough to truly be moved by his revelation. If it had not been established that he could not have been lying, I would simply have assumed that he was trying to manipulate the situation so that he could have more kicks.
      I can see what you mean about female characters, but I did not really feel like anyone in that book came out as well-rounded full-fledged characters. They were a bunch of puppets that Moore put into odd situation and who sometimes said or thought funny things. Still, I did enjoy the book, just not as much as the first 50 pages led me to hope I would.

  2. The third part in the Bloodsucking Fiends series came out a few weeks ago.
    I’m reading Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal

    • Yes! I saw that. I think that’s the reason that Christopher Moore came to Chicago last week. I will probably wait to pick up Bite Me until it comes out in paperback.
      I enjoyed Lamb very much. In fact, I got my copy of it personalized by him. 🙂
      I hope that you will enjoy it as well.

Leave a Reply

