I don’t practice Santeria

Tonight is reggae/ska night at work. Now, I am not actually a big fan of reggae. Don’t get me wrong. I like it, but I pretty much have to be in the mood for it. And that mood does not usually last very long on the rare occasions that I have it. Hence, I really only have one reggae CD, “Putamayo Presents Latin Reggae.” And to tell the truth, I bought that one today so that I could contribute.

I have to admit, I like this CD a lot. I listened to about half of it on the way to work and as soon as it came up in the random rotation, I heard something from the second half. Very nice.

It was funny, just before my first song came on, we were listening to a song and one of my co-workers asked, “is this one yours?”

“No,” I replied. “You can understand this one. It’s in English! You’ll know mine when you hear it.”

He laughed, but sure enough the very next song came up and his eyes grew wide. “Wait a minute! Is that Spanish?!”

I have a reputation for that. Maná, Julieta Venegas, Café Tacvba, Tito Puente, Santana, Ozomatli, Tito Nieves, Celia Cruz, Oscar D’León, Héctor Lavoe, Willie Colón, Willie Bobo, Buena Vista Social Club, La Makina, Monchy y Alexandra. Mexican rock, Afro-Cuban jazz, Cuban son, salsa, merenge, bachata. And who knows what else. Given a chance and assuming a style rather than a particular artist’s theme night, I can usually find a way to work in something in español.

I think that I need to get more CDs in French now, just to confuse them.

ETA: Apparently, I like more ska than I thought. Who knew? Still not really a fan of Mighty Mighty Bosstones, but No Doubt and Sublime can be fun.

Leave a Reply

