La via es bella.

A friend came to visit me for the past few days. She arrived Saturday night. We drank a bottle of port and most of a bottle of wine, thus instigating my first ever hangover.

I think that I am beginning to hate getting older. I mean come on! First hangover! First heartburn! What’s next? No, I don’t want to know. It was a rhetorical question.

Anyway, I spent most of Sunday recovering and Sunday night we went to w00tstock! Oh, how I loved that. Best show ever! Would have gotten autographs and pics with the stars, but neither my friend and I ate much during the day and by the time the show ended, we were starving! The fact that it went almost two hours longer than originally planned, just honed our hunger to a terrifying edge. I swear, we were only a few minutes away from dousing the people around us in a marinade and devouring them!

Monday I took my friend on a tour of Fermilab. Then I took her to a comic store. And finally she napped the rest of the afternoon and we watched DVDs all night before I took her to the train station Tuesday morning.

While my friend was here, she talked about turning thirty and things that she had not accomplished. She asked me if there was anything that I had not done. We talked about how when she was a kid, she had expected certain things about her life and it disturbed her to realize how far she was from that mark. It was a good question, albeit not one I had thought about in the recent past.

I have pretty much accomplished every goal I had set for myself as a kid. I have been a teacher. I have been a scientist. I have been a performer. I have traveled across this country and seen a few others. I have learned to juggle, to play several musical instruments, and to dance. I am pretty close to being able to unicycle. It is close enough that I should not feel any qualms about listing it in my accomplishments.

Oh sure. My life is not perfect. And my life is not the way that I pictured it when I was twelve. But I rarely actually pictured my whole life. I mainly thought things like, “when I grow up, I am going to X.” And X might have been “juggle like my father,” or “become a physicist or astronomer” or something like that. In which case, yeah. I have done those things.

On the other hand, I had also figured that I would be married at this point in my life. It was never really a goal. It was just an assumption. An incorrect one, apparently.

The only major goal that I have not accomplished yet is to become a published author. And I have been putting a plan together to take care of that in the next year or two. I will hopefully send a short story to a contest by the end of this month. Another to a magazine by the end of the year. And I want to have a proposal for a comic book series ready in time for next year’s C2E2.

But when that happens? What do I do when I have done everything that I ever dreamed of doing? I still have goals. I still have things that I want to accomplish. But it feels weird to think that I have (for the most part) become the person that I dreamed of being. I like who I am. I’m comfy with me. I feel like I fit myself. Any changes I want to make are tweaks, not overhauls.

Or to put it another way, “hi! My name’s Owen. You can call me Tigger if you like. Or Bone. Or Tiggerbone. Or whatever. I like comic books, especially Bone, PS238, and Kill Shakespeare. Some of my favorite books include: The Gospel According to Jesus Christ by José Saramago, Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff – Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore, The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruíz Zafón, The Odyssey by Homer, Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes, and Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White. My musical tastes are beyond eclectic, and whether you have heard of the artist I am listening to at any given moment is probably dependent upon what style from around the world I feel like hearing at that time. I juggle. I play guitar, harmonica, and occasionally piano although never more than one of those instruments at the same time. I like to meet people and to see what the universe has hiding around the corner. I like to learn new things. I have operated a telescope designed to detect some of the oldest, most powerful, and most distant events in the universe. I am currently operating a particle accelerator that until fairly recently was the most powerful in the world. I like to dance and am considered to be one of the better salsa partners in Chicagoland. I am sometimes silly. I am often smiling quietly. I might have had an adventure or two. I love my family and friends. I am very, very bad at aging. I probably like you.”

“But enough about me. Tell me about you, please.”

2 responses to “La via es bella.

  1. Nobody is good at aging, it’s all just levels of denial. But I’d say you’ve done pretty well so far.

Leave a Reply

