change changing places …

So, the “very rash” thing that I mentioned in the tweet in the previous post? I cut off my dreads. They are completely gone. For the first time in almost half a decade, I am dreadless. For the first time in about three years, I cannot pull my hair back into a ponytail.

It feels weird. It looks weird, at least to me. I just do not feel like the person I see in the mirror is me. I run my fingers through my hair and it feels all wrong.

And my head is cold for the first time in years.

I told a few friends and their response is usually the same. “It will grow back.”

And it will. At least partially. Stupid male pattern baldness.

What? I have not mentioned that? Yep. Hair at the crown of my head is thinning. Been doing the Rogaine thing for a couple of years. Between that and the length of my dreads, most people don’t even notice. But I cannot grow new dreadlocks there; the hair at my crown does not grow long enough. So … yeah. Even if I try to do dreadlocks again, it will never quite be the same.

On the other hand, I can actually make sure that the locks come in better this time. So, that is something to anticipate.

But the thing is … I am not sure why I did it. Oh I had all sorts of possible reasons. I had been thinking about it for a while. I’ll donate the hair to help clean up the oil spill in the Gulf. It is becoming summer and long hair holds in the heat. I stopped taking good care of them about three years ago and the roots are pretty frizzy. I needed a change. I was tired of how many people associated me with dreadlocks as if they were my defining characteristic. I was sick of the way strangers stereotyped me when they saw that I had them. I just wanted to even them out, but cut too much. Sleep madness ate my brain.

All of those things were true. None of them were the reason. Well, except for possibly the sleep madness. Because when I did it, I really was not thinking of those things. I just … did it.

And it feels really odd that so much of my self image was tied to that.

Anyway, on a completely different note I am going to try to learn to juggle five objects. Here is a good article about it.

How to Juggle Five Balls

from wikiHow – The How to Manual That You Can Edit
Many people can Juggle Two Balls, some folks can Juggle Three Balls. There are even a select few that can Juggle Four Balls. However, if you really want to put on a show, practice these steps so you can learn how to Juggle Five Balls!

Steps

  1. Begin learning this trick by tossing one ball from hand to hand.
  2. Throw one ball from your dominant hand in an perfect arc going to your other hand. To get five balls going, your tosses will have to be higher than with the three ball pattern. Practice throwing one ball back and forth, in a perfect arc, about a foot above head-height.
  3. Next, practice a two-ball-exchange at this greater height. Toss the first ball, then throw the next ball from your subordinate hand hand in a perfect arc toward your dominant hand when the first ball is at its peak. Keep repeating this high two-bag exchange for as long as necessary.
  4. A good ‘drill’ for doing five is to practice the following with three balls.
    • Put two in your dominant hand, and one in the other.
    • Throw both balls from your dominant hand to the hand with one ball, and while they’re in the air, hand off that ball to your other hand. Just go back and forth, throwing 2 then handing one off. Toss, toss, pass, catch, catch. It helps you practice quickly catching and throwing two consecutive balls.
  5. To help your hands get fast enough to Juggle Five, practice a Three Ball Flash (that is, throwing and catching all three balls with a space in between where you have no balls in your hands). Clap during the space.
  6. Then try doing a Five Ball Flash. Check your rhythm and accuracy by throwing all five of them as if beginning a cascade juggle, but let them fall to the ground instead of catching them. If you throw with the timing and accuracy required for a five juggle, they should land one after the other in a regular rhythm and end up quite close together on the floor just in front of your feet. In the early stages, try this exercise at a slow speed to help you develop a sense of the timing and feel of five alternating right/left (or left/right) throws. When you get comfortable (or tired of bending over), practice catching the balls you flash up.
  7. If you’ve practiced the above steps, you have the feel for the height and speed it takes to Juggle Five. The pattern is identical to juggling the three ball cascade, it is just a lot faster and a foot or so higher. All that remains is to just do it…
  8. Hold 3 balls in your dominant hand and 2 in the other. Juggle a regular cascade pattern, but more quickly, with the tosses going higher, and with greater accuracy. That sounds easy enough…

Video

Want to learn how to juggle 5 balls? JugglingStein will show you how in this video. This is it… This 5 ball tutorial allows you to follow simple steps and juggle 5 balls in no time!

Tips

  • Learn to Juggle Three Balls and Juggle Four Balls first.
  • You can try this whilst standing in front of a bed to stop the balls from hitting the ground.
  • You can get juggling balls at a magic shop or from the internet, or you can Make Juggling Balls .
  • As with any exercise, it is wise to warm up your muscles with stretching first.

Warnings

  • This may take months, or even years to learn. The pattern is the same as three ball juggling, the differences are speed, height, and accuracy; you need more of all three.
  • Do not learn to juggle three in one hand. It seems like it would help with the quick throws and catches; it does; but it gets you into the habit of throwing balls directly up instead of across to the other hand. It makes learning five take much longer, because you have to break that habit.
  • At first, this may seem difficult.

Things You’ll Need

  • Five juggling bean bags or juggling balls
  • Two hands

Related wikiHows

Article provided by wikiHow, a wiki how-to manual. Please edit this article and find author credits at the original wikiHow article on How to Juggle Five Balls. All content on wikiHow can be shared under a Creative Commons license.

Leave a Reply

