No-rora

I put on my shoes and a light jacket. A light breeze kissed my cheek as I stepped onto the balcony. For the first time in months, I could see stars above my complex. Not all of them, of course. But in Chicagoland, even seeing a few has become a bit of a cause for celebration for me.

Hope bubbled in my soul like the fizz from a bottle of soda pop.

I was told that I might actually get to see the Aurora Borealis tonight. I was given scientific sounding reasons why it might be visible this far south. I was a bit skeptical, of course, but willing to look.

As I drove home from work, I checked the cloud cover. Pretty darn overcast. A few patches of clarity showed the brightest of stars and the full moon, but it was nowhere near clear enough to sky gazing.

This did not change by the time I got home. But still, it was a nice night … and it has been a long time since I have watched the stars. 

image

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

