Winding paths & a meandering traveler

Yesterday, I went to Borders before work. I had received a “buy one paperback, get one half off” coupon in my email, and I wanted to use it before it expired. I eventually chose Melville’s Moby Dick and The Bad Girl by Mario Vargas Llosa, but I toyed briefly with re-buying Life of Pi by Yann Martel. I remember enjoying that book very much and want another copy. I do not remember what happened to my last one. I suspect that I have it to someone; I hope that they enjoyed it.

While looking at the cover, I saw the image of a boy and a tiger on a lifeboat, floating above a world of fish, whales, turtles, sharks … sealife of all kinds. I began to imagine the kernel of a fable or fantasy. A world where above us, skimming the surface of the world that we know, was another world. A world as alien & full of life as the seas are to us. A world where beings looked on us as we do upon dolphins, orca, whales, and sharks. Beautiful, dangerous, and mysterious.

I wonder if I will ever write it. Hopefully I will, after I get my Operator II promotion. I will have time to do more than study then.

Today, I took a break and played guitar outside. First time this year. Dulcinea missed the sun even more than I did. She sounded especially sweet as the breeze kissed her strings.

That reminds me. I need to buy more strings. Maybe this weekend.

There was something else about which I had wanted to write, but I seem to have forgotten it.

image

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

