Lunatics and Laughter Day 9: Arachnophobia (1990)

I’m not afraid to admit it. Spiders freak me out. Yes, I know. They do wonderful things. They keep down the number of pests. Without them the world would be overrun by insects and the like. And, of course, Spider-Man is my favorite superhero.

I have no quarrel with spiders in theory. I quite like how useful they are. And as long as they are not in my personal space, I usually have no problem seeing them.

But they still give me the willies. Too many eyes. Too many legs. And they would happily eat me if they could.

Because of that, it has always taken a supreme effort to get me to watch any horror movie that involved them as the monster.

Leave it to Blake Petit to make me want to go see one. For much of the month of October, he has been reviewing the horror and comedy genre. No, not horror separate from comedy. We are talking about the combo. It is a difficult balance, but as Blake shows, it has a historical (and hysterical) past in film. The two paths actually have a lot in common and done well, they complement each other nicely.

Arachnophobia is a movie that fits quite nicely into that mix. And Blake’s review really makes me want to check it out.

Warning, these reviews start out with a complete summary, so if spoilers are a problem, Do NOT READ!

Still, Blake is a talented and witty writer and a thoughtful reviewer. I highly recommend  checking out this and the rest of his reviews. And then the rest of his site. And while you are at it, why not pick up one of his books?

Lunatics and Laughter Day 9: Arachnophobia (1990).

Leave a Reply

