A Matter of Definition

I have a recipe for making a Spanish Tortilla.

I look at said recipe and notice that I have none of the main ingredients. Potatoes? Nope. Onions? Nada. Eggs? Well, ok. I do have eggs. But that is not enough to make a tortilla.

But wait! What are those?

Sweet potatoes! And plantains! And shallots! Yes, I think this might work …and if I use coconut oil instead of olive oil, and cardamom and grains of paradise instead of pepper it will be a West African Spanish tortilla!

I wonder if this was a good idea?

2 responses to “A Matter of Definition

  1. Well, was it?

Leave a Reply

