Seussentennial – revisited

I wrote this ten years ago for the centennial of the birth of Theodor Geisel. I think that it is the best thing that I have ever written. You may or may not agree. I did not share this for praise nor for critique. I just wanted to share it. Because Dr. Seuss inspired me. My love of language, and silliness, and fearless play are all at least partially due to him and his wonderful books.

UnCool Before UnCool Was Cool

One hundred years ago today,
near Massachussetts’ lovely bay,
a child was born without pomposity
though he would grow to ridiculosity.
Theodore Geisel was his name
drawin’ and writin’ his eventual fame.

Latin in college set his language skills loose
and soon his new prose got some much needed juice!
For while workin on ships during the Depression
he learned of the rhythm to start jiving and meshin’.
The ship’s engine had a particular beat
it tickled the nose and tingled the feet
it rattled and crackled and clangled so sweet
that it set him to writing that marvelous treat
And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street.

His name of the pen became Dr. Suess
and soon he was rivalling dear Mother Goose!
With Sneetches, and Loraxes, Grinches, and Whos,
more creatures than ever could fill fifty zoos!

So join me today in celebretizing
young or…

View original post 55 more words

Leave a Reply

