Sometimes I call him Bagheera

Yesterday after work I petted my cat, Eli, and then went for a walk to the local library. I came home and fed him. But there was a surprise for us both.

A mouse popped its head up through the hearing grate close to his food dish.

Eli noticed.

He pounced. The mouse ducked back down. Eli waited.

I went into the living room to read. Eli usually takes this as a sign to sit on my lap. But instead he waited.

I went to bed. He usually comes with me and sleeps in the crook of my bent knees or at my feet. Instead, he waited.

Around 2am, I heard him running through the apartment. But for the rest of the night, silence.

His food dish remains untouched. And he is still waiting.

Leave a Reply

