Good-bye, Gwendolyn

May 11, 1919. My grandmother was born. Interestingly enough, I learned today that means that she was born exactly a year after Richard P. Feynman. Two people who shaped my life immensely, born so close together, and yet so far apart.

But I am not going to write about that.

Granma died almost a year ago. And I have been thinking of how to pay my respects. She introduced me to science fiction, fantasy, swashbuckling adventure, mythology, classic comedy, and comic books. The Twilight Zone, Star Trek, Flash Gordon, Abbott and Costello, Burns and Allen, Buster Keaton, Captain Marvel (SHAZAM!), Jason and the Argonauts, George Pal, Ray Harryhausen, The Time Machine, Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger, The Thief of Bagdad, Bugs Bunny cartoons, and so many other wonderful pieces of my past were all things she showed me.

Most of the Twilight Zone is on Netflix. All but the fourth season, when it was hour long episodes instead of half hour ones.

I think that I will go back and re-watch them. Then I will blog about them.

After that, maybe I will move on to Alfred Hitchcock Presents. Or maybe the Star Treks. We shall see where the mood guides me. But whatever I decide, it is because my present life was inspired by her and the things that she showed me.

I love you, Granma.

Leave a Reply

