Ice Breaker

I wrote this a couple of days ago and posted it on G+and Facebook. It seems that people like it.

Dear Winter,

I fell in love with you when I was but a boy. Your promises of days off from the routine of school, whispers of Christmas, sharing hot cocoa …it was heavenly.

My love for you never dimmed through all these years. Until today.

It’s not you. It’s me.

Oh, who am I kidding? It *is* you.

You have grown so cold and yet so clingy. You insist upon redecorating and cover up anything I do. And you have become so bitter that I can barely stand you!

Also, I must admit it. I have met someone else. She can be  mercurial, I admit. Warm one day, cold the next. She can dampen a persons spirits on a moment’s whim or shower him with warmth. She encourages growth instead of stifling it. She makes me glad to be alive.

Her name is Spring. And though I have been told that she cannot stay long, I cherish every moment we have together.

Please understand. And don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

Leave a Reply

